Chev.Dr.N.R.Dhanapalan Inter-Collegiate Basketball tournament 2019  (26th July 2019)

 5th Chavalier Dr. N.R Dahanapalan Inter School Basketball Tournament

            5th Chavalier Dr N.R Dhanapalan Inter School Basketball Tournament was held on 26th and 27th July 2019 in the College premises. The tournament commenced with the arrival of our chief guest Chavalier Dr. N.R.  Dhanapalan, Founder & Chairman, Annai Violet Group of Institutions and our Secretary Mr.N.R.D. Premkumar who shot the first ball and inaugurated the tournament after formal invocation, other dignitaries of the two day tournament were our Joint Secretary Dr.P.E.R Premchand, our Principal Dr Kamala Balakrishnan and our Vice Principal Mrs Japhia Solomon. The guests were welcomed by our Physical Directoress Ms. Thenmozhi with her welcome address and were felicitated by our principal Dr Kamala Balakrishnan.

            Altogether 40 schools in and around Chennai participated in the tournament. In spite of heavy rain and humid weather conditions there were good  response from various schools. Eminent and experienced referees from various federations conducted the tournament. On 26th we had qualifier matches followed by semifinals and finals on 27th July. The winners of the 5th Chavalier Dr. N.R.  Dhanapalan Inter school Basketball Tournament for boys were AVM Rajeshwari’s School and the runners were P.A.K Palaniswamy Hr. Sec. School, Sethu Bhaskara Matri. Hr. Sec. School secured third place and fourth place was secured by Velammal Matriculation School (Main). The winners of the 5th Chavalier Dr. N.R.  Dhanapalan Inter school Basketball Tournament for girls were St. Joseph’s Anglo Indian Hr. Sec School amd runner were Vidyodaya Girls Hr.Sec School, the third place was secured by Lady Sivaswami Girls Hr. Sec. School and the fourth place was secured by NSN Matriculation Hr. Sec School.

            The Chief Guest for the valedictory was our Joint Secretary Dr.P.E.R Premchand who congratulated the participants and distributed the medals and awards for the players of the tournament. Best two players of the tournament were selected and were given “Best player award” to motivate and encourage their involvement and effort in the game.